MB Monitor shows all green, but no .bit

post 'your questions here please. Search first and see if it's been answered, and we DO hope you read the FAQ and Install info on the site. If you didn't, we'll tell you to RTFM. lol. If you did and you still have questions, we're happy to hear them!

MB Monitor shows all green, but no .bit

Postby Gordovious » Sat Mar 29, 2014 7:23 am

Hello Folks,

After a successful install, I have all Green checks in the MB Monitor. But none of the existing .bit websites will come up.

At the bottom of the screen, it says "Looking up feens.bit..." then "Looked up feens.bit" then "Looking up http://www.feens.bit...
Then I get the "Problem loading page" screen, and it says: Firefox can't find the server at http://www.feens.bit.

Any thoughts?
I'm running Win 7 Home Premium on an HP Pavilion dv7 64 bit. I can send a MB log file if you wish.

Thanks,
Gordon
Gordovious
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Mar 29, 2014 1:47 am

Re: MB Monitor shows all green, but no .bit

Postby Derrick » Sat Mar 29, 2014 2:01 pm

Possible problems:
MeowBit does not work well yet with VPN's (like Boleh VPN)
Close and reopen all your browser windows, if that doesn't work try rebooting.
Is the blockchain current or is it still downloading in the Namecoin client?
Tips are very appreciated:
  • Namecoin: N2mGx74J8RnEpf1rib6wWp83aSJ5nz51zM
  • Litecoin: LXL8CQDaGNNMvaxsAXnhzJYRB3og3ZCDYq
  • Bitcoin: 1LZpjHh6MUsE1ub8KdVg5FoYiYxvKEtXEc
Referral Link: Buy Namecoin on Cryptsy
User avatar
Derrick
Site Admin
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon Jan 13, 2014 3:18 am

Re: MB Monitor shows all green, but no .bit

Postby Gordovious » Sat Mar 29, 2014 4:36 pm

Hello Derrick,
Thanks for your response.
I'm not using a VPN- just a wireless connection to Comcast.
I have closed and reopened Firefox, and still no yay. I've rebooted once since installing everything.
I'm a little nervous to reboot, because it seems to take 10-15 minutes for the Namecoin wallet to start up, but I certainly will again, and see if that helps.

Upon the initial installation, I watched the progress of it downloading the blockchain, and it seems to have completed.
- The MB Monitor says Up to date, the wallet works fine for NMC transactions and domain name transactions, and there seem to be check marks and happy cats everywhere.

The log has zillions of entries that say:
[Mar 29 09:47:45]: Found hooked interface: DNS 127.0.0.1{A1D0F9F2-4956-43DD-B64B-9A3406EFEA20}

And see also the Fragment I've attached*. (By the way, I only woke up around 9:30, so I'm not sure why there's activity at 6:44.)
*Dang! It won't take a txt file, or any other kind I've tried! What's the trick?

Thanks so much,
Gordon
Attachments
MBLogFrag.rar
There is a text file within.
(1.16 KiB) Downloaded 816 times
Gordovious
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Mar 29, 2014 1:47 am

Re: MB Monitor shows all green, but no .bit

Postby Derrick » Sat Mar 29, 2014 5:57 pm

From the logfile it looks like everything is working properly, I think the trouble is in Firefox. You may need to reboot before Firefox works; I know what you're saying about the Namecoin wallet: I'm really looking forward to an updated wallet.

You aren't running the FreeSpeechME firefox plugin are you?

Can you try your luck with another browser? Chrome or IE?

Thanks!
Tips are very appreciated:
  • Namecoin: N2mGx74J8RnEpf1rib6wWp83aSJ5nz51zM
  • Litecoin: LXL8CQDaGNNMvaxsAXnhzJYRB3og3ZCDYq
  • Bitcoin: 1LZpjHh6MUsE1ub8KdVg5FoYiYxvKEtXEc
Referral Link: Buy Namecoin on Cryptsy
User avatar
Derrick
Site Admin
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon Jan 13, 2014 3:18 am

Re: MB Monitor shows all green, but no .bit

Postby Gordovious » Sun Mar 30, 2014 4:48 pm

Son of a bit! Still isn't working.

Chrome, Safari, IE or Firefox yields the same result: Can't find the server.

I did not install FreeSpeechMe- just MeowBit. One thing that might help is that when I log in to Windows, MB starts up right away, but NameCoin doesn't. I manually start it, and after the delay, it wakes up, and MB shows all green.
Does the wallet have to start *first* or something?

Anything else I can tell you/give you to help with this diagnosis?

Thanks again,
Gordon
Gordovious
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Mar 29, 2014 1:47 am

Re: MB Monitor shows all green, but no .bit

Postby Derrick » Mon Mar 31, 2014 3:58 pm

It very strange because the log you submitted shows the local DNS server resolving domains, it's just not getting the dot-bit domains.

Another friend who had this problem found that is was because of a Internet speed accelerator he was using. Are there any applications that you are running that are designed to "boost" you internet speed, or provide caching? These types of applications may be sending your web traffic through a SOCKS server, bypassing MeowBit.
Tips are very appreciated:
  • Namecoin: N2mGx74J8RnEpf1rib6wWp83aSJ5nz51zM
  • Litecoin: LXL8CQDaGNNMvaxsAXnhzJYRB3og3ZCDYq
  • Bitcoin: 1LZpjHh6MUsE1ub8KdVg5FoYiYxvKEtXEc
Referral Link: Buy Namecoin on Cryptsy
User avatar
Derrick
Site Admin
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon Jan 13, 2014 3:18 am

Re: MB Monitor shows all green, but no .bit

Postby Gordovious » Tue Apr 01, 2014 5:06 am

Hey Derrick,

No accelerators. This is a pretty vanilla install-it is the version that came with this laptop when I got it.
Are there any debugging things I can look at, or utilities I can run to show what's going where?

Another possible clue may be that I rarely boot into Windows- I use Ubuntu Linux mostly- and Windows did zillions of updates and reboots before and after the Namecoin/MB install. Should I somehow uninstall and start over (don't say yes)?

Anything else obvious I may have overlooked or forgotten?

Still hopeful,
Gordon
Gordovious
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Mar 29, 2014 1:47 am

Re: MB Monitor shows all green, but no .bit

Postby Derrick » Tue Apr 01, 2014 1:35 pm

Interesting, maybe one of the security updates did effect MeowBit operation.

It would be interesting to try uninstalling then reinstalling MeowBit might fix this.

First though: I'm attaching a program which I wrote during MeowBit debugging that dumps all the data for each of your network interfaces to a text file. If you could run this both with and without MeowBit running and send me the output it could be very helpful. Just couple click the .exe, it'll gather all the info and launch Notepad so you can copy it out.

The program must be placed in the MeowBit program folder to run properly, it uses some other dependencies that are in there. Same folder as MeowBit.exe which should be: C:\Program Files (x86)\MeowBit\

You can email or PM me the two logs with are generated. (One with MeowBit running, and one without)

Thanks much for your patience and help in trying to diagnose this!
Attachments
DumpInterfaceManagementObjects.zip
(3.4 KiB) Downloaded 671 times
Tips are very appreciated:
  • Namecoin: N2mGx74J8RnEpf1rib6wWp83aSJ5nz51zM
  • Litecoin: LXL8CQDaGNNMvaxsAXnhzJYRB3og3ZCDYq
  • Bitcoin: 1LZpjHh6MUsE1ub8KdVg5FoYiYxvKEtXEc
Referral Link: Buy Namecoin on Cryptsy
User avatar
Derrick
Site Admin
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon Jan 13, 2014 3:18 am

Re: MB Monitor shows all green, but no .bit

Postby Gordovious » Thu Apr 03, 2014 9:33 pm

Well, who knows?

I uninstalled the older version, and installed the new one, and it works!

Thank you for all your input- I really appreciate it!
Gordon
Gordovious
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Mar 29, 2014 1:47 am

Re: MB Monitor shows all green, but no .bit

Postby MWD » Thu Apr 03, 2014 9:54 pm

Gordovious wrote:Well, who knows?

I uninstalled the older version, and installed the new one, and it works!

Thank you for all your input- I really appreciate it!
Gordon


Nice!

MWD
Freedom Feens, yo! http://www.freedomfeens.com/
Censorship-resistant Dot-Bit (#Namecoin domains) on ANY Browser MeowBit. http://meowbit.com
User avatar
MWD
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2014 11:38 pm

Next

Return to Tech Help for MeowBit

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron